wyld WYLD Network
adhoc WYLD patron database management committee
WYLD
wyldcat members
library directory
wyoming state library > wyld > members > committees > patron database management

This committee completed its work and disbanded.

Members:

Chair - Marci Mock - mmock@sheridanwyolibrary.org
Peg Parkison - Sheridan College
Ann Marie Ross - amross@carbonlibraries.org
Richard Ward - richard@ccpls.org
Kashawna White - kwhite@lclsonline.org
WSL Liaison - Desiree Saunders - desiree.saunders@wyo.gov
WSL Liaison - Marc Stratton - mstratton@will.state.wy.us

Documents:

Recommendations (PDF) - approved October 2007
Recommendations (part 2) - approved, May 2008
WYLD Card Policy - updated May 2008
Presentation for WYLD Annual meeting June, 2008

Reports: June 2008 | May 2007 | May 2004

 

Committee Charge:

The adhoc Patron Database Management Committee was charged with:

  1. Reviewing the WYLD CARD policy and making appropriate recommendations to the WYLD Governing Board and WYLD Regional Council.
  2. Identifying patron database management issues or processes that may affect the WYLD network as a whole or member libraries. Some examples of issues may include:
    • Should there be a standard guideline set for purging patron records? Why ? If so, what should those standards be?
    • Patron loads - what guidelines are needed so that records overlay correctly, etc. (this is an issue for academic and school sites who may want to do such loads)
    • How do "universal cards" on campuses interface with the WYLD/SIRSI system -- (primarily another academic/school issue)
    • Authentication for the statewide licensed databases are currently based on having a library card in the WYLD System, what issues need to be identified in relation to this.
    • Patron photos in user records. The current SIRSI system supports a patron photo as part of the user record, how should this be handled by the local library and by the WYLD Office
    • Other issues ... (e.g., were there difficulties in migrating the patron data that could have been remedied in some manner with standard guidelines, etc.)
  3. Recommending procedures or guidelines for managing patron records in the WYLD Network consortia environment to the WYLD Regional Council.
  4. To identify barriers to true statewide borrowing and recommend ways to eliminate/overcome these.