annual meetings

WYLD NETWORK Business Meeting
Minutes [ DRAFT ]

June 1, 2007
Torrington, Wyoming


  1. Call to order - Dale Collum, President
    Network President called the meeting to order at 8:10 a.m.
  2. Roll call of delegates - Brian Greene
    Roll call was completed and a quorum was present. Public Libraries attending were Albany County, Big Horn County, Campbell County, Carbon County, Converse County, Crook County, Fremont County, Goshen (was late) Hot Springs County, Johnson County, Laramie County, Lincoln County, Natrona County, Niobrara County, Platte County, Sheridan County Library, Sweetwater County, Teton County, Uinta County, Washakie County and Weston County. Academic Libraries attending were Casper College, Eastern Wyo College, Laramie County College, Sheridan College, Western Wyo. College and University of Wyoming. Special Libraries attending were Wyoming State Library and Wyoming State Law Library. School Libraries attending were Laramie County School District #1 and the Crook County School District
  3. Approval of minutes
    Debbie Iverson moved to accept the minutes of the June 2, 2006 meeting as presented. Marci Mock seconded it and the motion passed
  4. Committee Reports
    1. Fees and Statistics
      Bill Nelson (Chair) announced that the report has been posted on the Network web page:
    2. Governance/Bylaws (Lucie Osborn, Chair)
      Brenda McGinnis (Chair) stated that there was no business in the past year [that a brief report has been posted on the Network web page:
    3. Nominating - Julie Farr (Chair)
      Julie reported that nominees for WYLD network positions were as follows Network V.P/ President Elect. – Mary Jayne Jordan, Sundance Sr./Jr. High School. Small Public Libraries nominees are, Deb Sturman Niobrara and Sukey Hohl, Sublette County, Member at Large Stephen Sarazin, Albany County and Marilyn Heiner, Lincoln Co., K-12 Library nominees are Sally Hoover Newcastle High School and Pat Taylor, Saratoga Middle/High School, Academic Library nominees are Susan Richards, Northwest College and Carol Brown, Western Wyoming Comm. College. See Network web page:
    4. Online Quality (Beth Floyd, Chair)
      There is a report on the Network web page:
    5. Patron Database Management, Ad-hoc (Marci Mock, Chair)
      There is a report on the Network web page:
    6. Training (Susan Simpson, Chair)
      Susan Simpson presented a report on OPAL (Online Programming for All Libraries) It can be used for committee, staff meetings etc. The members can chat with each other and conduct business. You need to use WYLD leader phone with this software. Marilyn Heiner talked about updating and improving the skills checklist. More can be found on Network web page: /
    7. WYLD Office (Brian Greene)
      report presented orally and Brian’s report is on the Network web page,
    8. Regional Council (Patty Myers, Chair)
      Region representatives that were present gave reports. They were from regions were Region 1, 3 and 4. A fuller report for all regions can be found on Network web page:
    9. Governing Board (Dale Collum, Chair)
      Dale spoke of attending the Sirsi SuperConference in Colorado Springs and urged anyone who could manage it to attend. He saw the past year as an evolutionary year with nothing major going on such as upgrades to the system etc.
  5. New Business
    1. Annual meeting location – Cynthia Twing from Johnson County offered to host the 2008 WYLD Meeting in Buffalo. Patty Myers moved to have the meeting in Buffalo, Susan Simpson 2nd it. Motion passed.
  6. Wyoming Libraries Foundation (Isabel Hoy for Karen Hopkins, Chair)
    Karen was not present. Isabel Hoy (treasurer of the Foundation), Goshen County did say they would have to change the financial officer for the Foundation with Joe French’s retirement in August.
  7. Other business
    There was none.
  8. Network election results
    Julie Farr announced that Mary Jayne Jordan was elected as Network Vice President –President Elect. Deb Sturman was elected the rep. of Small Public Libraries. Sally Hoover was elected as the K-12 Library rep., Susan Richards was elected as Academic Libraries rep. and Stephen Sarazin was elected as Member at Large. These folks are now on the Governing Board and the Board’s Network web page has been updated:
  9. Announcements
    Boyd Broughton invited everyone to the 100th anniversary of the Sweet Water County Library to be held on July 4th, 2007 in Green River.
    Marilyn Miller, of EWC, reminded everyone of the book give away at the registration table.
    Brian thanked EWC and Goshen County for hosting the WYLD meeting this year.
  10. Recognition of Members' service
    Dale presented certificates to members who served on committees, the Regional Council and the Governing Board in recognition and thanks for their service
  11. Turning over the gavel
    Dale handed over the gavel to the new Network president, Patty Myers, Campbell County.
  12. Adjournment
    There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:45.
Respectfully submitted,
Becky Hawkins